New thoughts from Old books

I decided it was time to read through the Bible again. Maybe I will even finish this time. I am discovering new things each day and it has made this trip through the scriptures fun.
I hadn’t ever thought of the Israelites in Egypt as anything but downtrodden slaves, but some of them owned livestock. I don’t know why I missed it before, but what they took from Egypt was not just plunder.
I picked up on their ownership while I read through the plagues. The sixth plague was pestilence on the livestock, but God made a distinction between the Israelites and Egyptians livestock, so the Israeli’s went untouched. Huh … I have always heard of the 10 plagues, but there are 11, if you count the final one, the death of the first born. That is one that I may never understand, but I do find it interesting that, after the Israelites are out of Egypt, in Exodus 13 God declares that the first born are to be sanctified to God. Today I started praying differently for my firstborn child, and my firstborn grandchildren. It has made me want to be a praying grandma that influences her grandbabies through her prayers. Hang on tight kids, Grandma is praying some great prayers over those grandchildren.

One thought on “New thoughts from Old books

Leave a Reply

