Getting Ready

I woke up this morning with Dad on my mind. I was going to grab my laptop and move to my comfy chair to write. I lay still for a moment wondering what Dad would be doing if he were still on earth. Dad had one of the first Apple computers and I made the move to an Imac a few years back. I was remember typing Steve’s masters thesis on that old Apple, and when I would run into problems, which was often, Dad would write down the glitch and take it with him to the next meeting of his Apple support group in The City (San Francisco).

Those early Apple owners created support groups to find work arounds for glitches so they wouldn’t have to buy the very next generation Apple. They called themselves the Orphan Apple Group. Dad was in his 60s by then and I am blessed to have been the daughter of a man humble enough to continue to be taught by youth until he died in the 90’s. He would smile to see me with my Mac on my lap.

So, what’s the point? I am starting fresh. 2010 has been tough and I am looking forward to a new start. Planning is not my strength, but this morning I am enjoying planning ahead. His mercies are new every morning and He is faithful, even when it doesn’t make sense to me. As I have often said, the day I understand God, He is too small to worship.

4 thoughts on “Getting Ready

  1. Well, it is good to see you over here at WordPress! I think we are all looking forward to the clean slate a new year brings, and the ‘fresh start’ feeling that comes with it.
    We have much to be grateful for, even with the losses we carry in our hearts.

    God bless you in this New Year!

    Love,
    Kris

Leave a Reply

