Vindicated and oh so tired

It finally happened in the Dr.s office. I went in to the reception desk and was enveloped by a pink puffy cloud of perfume. I can’t see what happens to my coloring, but it must not be very attractive. I was quickly taken into the back, caught before I hit the floor,  put on oxygen and given a shot. Then one nurse sat with me and two others kept peeking in the door.

It was a fortunate, unfortunate sort of experience. After 30+ years of struggling with a severe reaction to cigarettes, (pipes and cigars are no problem), perfumes, colognes, paint and other various sorts of chemicals, and who knows how many rolled eyeballs, it is finally documented first hand, right in the Dr.s office.

I will recover by tomorrow afternoon and my arm should stop aching by then too. I hate needles and I didn’t even flinch when the nurse stuck me.

I don’t mean to offend, but before you spray the perfume or slap on a generous layer of cologne, think of those around you. It’s not that I don’t like the smell, it’s that it causes my airways to close, and I really don’t look good with a blue tinge to my face.

One thought on “Vindicated and oh so tired

Leave a Reply

