Short and to the point today

I just finished reading Matthew and I was overwhelmed by the demands on Jesus. I hadn’t thought of it before, in a practical sort of way, only spiritually. He was teaching, doing miracles and healing the sick almost without end. He made time to get away and He protected that time with His Father. To use current jargon; He was intentional/deliberate about His time with God.

I get so exhausted by taking care of family and then work, that I can be downright unpleasant sometimes. Really, it’s true. As I read through the book today, I could hear frustration in Jesus response to His disciples sometimes, but even when they didn’t get it, or the crowds and their demands were relentless, He was gracious. He was only harsh with those who’s motives were impure or selfish.

Philippians 4:13 tells me I can do all things through Christ and II Peter 1:3 tells me that I have all I need for life and godliness. So, I can be gracious, no matter what. I am fully equipped; I just need to use the tools I have, or learn to use the ones I have but don’t know what the heck they do. The only way I can become an expert with the tools I have is to go to my Teacher every day for practice and instruction. I will be an apprentice until heaven, but I will be Jesus’ apprentice.

Leave a Reply

