It’s the Rockies

A white Easter followed by gray days followed by beautiful sun, but not so much warmth. Tomorrow it’s supposed to be in the 70’s followed by more snow. It’s spring time in the Rockies, complete with runny noses, sore throats and general laziness brought on by the cold bug that runs through a full house, Walton style.

So, I am watching the news and old recorded shows and reading while I have tea, make use of the box of tissues and watch the wild bunnies in the back yard. I have foggy cold head and can’t focus.

Still, while I was reading Mark a couple of things caught my attention. At the end of chapter 4, Jesus has just calmed the storm for his disciples and he says, “Why are you so afraid? Have you still no faith?”

I have seen God come through me over and over again through out my life, and yet, when facing a crisis or even just a stressful time, I still fear. It seems my faith is rather short sighted.

Then while reading chapter 6 when the woman with an “issue of blood” touch Jesus’ cloak and was healed I thought about  how many people were pressing against Him and His disciples. It wasn’t the touch Jesus felt, it was her faith. He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well.” He felt her faith.

I feel like the father in Mark 9 who said, “Lord, I believe, help my unbelief.” I want long term faith. I long for tangible faith that others can feel, that helps others when they fear. God’s word can even find it’s way through the foggy mist of my cold and speak profoundly.

Leave a Reply

