“No we don’t have any. They’re seasonal.”

“Seasonal? Really?”

I was trying to replace a couple of the well worn table cloths we use at church. I went from store only to be told they had none, and then a sweet young woman said that to me. I had no idea table cloths were considered seasonal. How sad. Do we so seldom sit down to eat together that the need to cover a table and maybe even set it, is a seasonal event rather than a regular habit?

In the spirit of honesty, Steve and I do love to sit in our big chairs with our dinner and watch a show, making wise cracks back and forth as we enjoy each other. However, our meals sitting at the table are not rare events.

While I know there are seasonal table cloths, it is just too sad for me to allow myself to accept that using a table cloth at all is a seasonal event.

So, who knows if the fork goes on the left or the right? Just curious.

One thought on ““No we don’t have any. They’re seasonal.”

Leave a Reply

