Opulent Grace

Webster’s definition of Opulent = : amply or plentifully provided or fashioned often to the point of ostentation <living in opulent comfort>

As I was doing my laps yesterday the “g’s” came first and grace would not leave my mind. I am living in glorious grace today, breathing unaided for another day. When I turned and started on “o”, always a tough letter, opulent came to mind and as I stroked I thought of the opulence of God’s grace. It is more than just ample, it is plentiful.

When I got home to finish the last day for the week in my Bible study again, grace was in my face. The new thought was that, although God’s grace is given in abundance, it is also give specifically. It is a gift given uniquely to each as we have need, when we have need. Beth Moore challenged me with a new perspective, in that it is also something we need to gather, as the Israelites gathered manna.

I like to wait for God to drop things in my lap, but I think that more often than not, He is calling me to leave my comfort, go into the light and bend over to gather His incredible grace. And there I am again, back in II Peter 1:3, “His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness,”

I have all that I need already, but I must be actively involved in the

process. God isn’t a passive God, and my faith isn’t a passive faith any more than my marriage is a passive relationship. There is work, activity,

involvement and movement in my life with Christ. There are blessed times to sit in awe, but most of the time I am walking, working, gathering, and blessing. Grace is too good to keep to myself, it needs to be shared.

Leave a Reply

