It’s 2012

And now it’s official because I will be able to watch the Rose Parade. The Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade is the beginning of the Christmas Season and for me, being a Californian, the Rose Parade signifies the beginning of the new year.

My handsome hubby and I went out for breakfast New Years Day, since the Parade was not to be seen. It was lovely. There is something encouraging about sitting at the table, 34+ years into marriage and having a stimulating, deep, thought provoking conversation about the Lord, His Word, and what we are learning from the Bible and other authors. One of Steve’s favorite authors is N.T. (Tom) Wright. I’m starting Surprised By Hope, so we’ll see if he becomes a favorite for me as well. I do love the conversations his writing creates in our home.

I’m starting 2012 with these thoughts from our morning breakfast. They are stuck in my mind and heart like that bit of movie popcorn you can’t get at but can’t stop trying. You keep eating more popcorn and then for hours, or less if you carry floss, you work at the one errant bit in your tooth, which although it annoys, isn’t enough to keep you from eating more popcorn at the next opportunity. Here are my bits for 2012.

We are image bearers practicing justice and beauty; we bear the image of God to the world, reflecting His character – therefore we must be actively working to develop our character- but we are also reflecting the beauty of creation back to the Father.

Secondly, we hear much about being authentic or real. God wants us to be authentic not in our nature, but in our second nature – the one we received from Christ when we surrendered to Him.

And last, but by far not least – Dietrich Bonhoeffer, “When Christ calls a man, he bids him come and die.” It’s by dying to me that I learn to live life in abundance.

Just some light conversation to begin the year.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

 

Leave a Reply

