Have you ever felt invisible, without value, not worth much? Have you ever been treated as if you were invisible or of little worth?

I know I am loved. I know I have something to offer. I know I’m good with customer relations and yet …

Saturday morning when I went on line to see if I had been scheduled to work, my login failed, repeatedly. After a few tries I stopped and thought,  “No … Surely they would have told me.”

I called and I had in fact been laid-off but no one had bothered to let me know.

The offending company shall remain un-named, but rest assured all you Vanguardians, it wasn’t Vanguard. I am still fully committed to all ya’ll.

So, in spite of what I know to be true, and that I wasn’t particularly emotionally attached to the job, it hurt. It hurts to be treated like you aren’t even worth the time it takes to make a phone call to let you know you needn’t come into work. I felt invisible. I’m fairly sure that if I were to come across one of the managers, they wouldn’t recognize me, or if they did, they’d wonder why. “I know her. Who is she?”

Why is it so easy to fall into the woe is me pit when we know better? Why is the lie easier to believe than the truth? Why is it easier to embrace the hurt by the thoughtlessness of man, than to fall into the arms of my loving heavenly Father?

I don’t know, but I plan to spend more time in the Word today and finish my pint of Haagen Dazs. There’s nothing quite like time with God and a bowl of Vanilla Swiss Almond to soothe a slightly wounded saint.

4 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

