Pastor Kelly has been teaching us about rest. I’ve been thinking about rest. I was part of group of ladies last week, and we talked about rest. Funny thing. In some churches, as in Jewish culture, the sabbath meant that no work was done. There are churches that mandate you sit still, quietly all through the sabbath. The truth is, that doesn’t mean that you are resting at all. There could be an internal tornado of turmoil in your head or spirit so that even if you are sitting still, at the end of the day you are exhausted.

Steve and Sean are two of my favorite men. I love this picture of rest. I can see myself as little Sean and God as Steve as I lean back in His arms and feel that deep, peaceful, all encompassing rest. That’s heaven.

Psalm 62 repeats this, “1 Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from him. 2 Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.”

“5 Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him. 6 Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.”

I love the feeling in verse 8, “8 Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.”

Next time you need rest, but the storm rages within, pour out your heart to Him and lean back in His lap. Our rest comes from Him.

 

Leave a Reply

