Be Mine

I’m reading the Chronological Bible this year and enjoying the historical context. Today, Valentine’s Day, my reading was from Numbers, not known for being a stimulating read, but I will be thinking on one specific verse today.

Numbers 9:22 “Whether it was two days, or a month, or a longer time, that the cloud continued over the tabernacle, abiding there, the people of Israel remained in camp and did not set out, but when it lifted they set out.”

In my younger days, both when single and married with children, I lived a life of getting up and going when God called. It was great when I was single.Image I was only responsible for me. I only had to cope with my own luggage and emotions. When I was moving around the globe with children in tow, life was more cluttered and complicated; physically, mentally and emotionally.

Image

There were more people and lots more stuff crowding my brain and needing attention. In both situations I loved the blessings, but along with the blessings came responsibility. 

As I was writing in my journal this morning about moving when God says, “Move,” and staying put when He says to stay put, I glanced up to see what I had written earlier this week. In Exodus 29 God says about the tent of meeting, (vs. 42-43)  ” … where I will meet with you, to speak to you there. There I will meet with the people of Israel, and it shall be sanctified by my glory.”

That was an amazing gift to have a place where God would speak to His people, and yet I have it so much better. As a Christian, where ever I am, whenever I call out to Him, there He is, with me. No packing required. 

Hebrews 13:5 “… be content with what you have, for he has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.'” 

Whether I have much or little, I always have access to the God who loves me and cares for me.

There is no better lover on Valentine’s Day.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Be Mine

Leave a Reply

