I’m still wanting to vent on this blog, but I’ll practice self control.

2013 ended with foot surgery, on Christmas Eve no less. Soon it will be February and I’ll lose the cast for a walking boot. Feet take a long time to heal, and I can’t wait to be walking pain free. In the long run, it’s a good Christmas gift.

January came with a not completely unexpected start. We are in the process of looking for work. It’s a good news/bad news kinda thing, but I’ll save that story for later. The result is that our home, built so I could breathe, will be going on the market by next week.

Steve and Michelle have had to do the de-clutter and clean while I sit on my butt. Some folks think I should be happy, but the truth is, I’m a control freak and it’s making me crazy. They’ve done an amazing job, and the house already looks great.

We built this house just 6 years ago due to my Multiple Chemical Sensitivity, (caused by the volcano in Hawaii). I needed a safe place where I could breathe freely so this was God’s amazing grace to us. And then, two years ago, God healed me. Our grace home is no longer a medical necessity.

This house has also been home to each of our grown children since we moved in. Jewell and her family lived in the basement for two years, followed by Andrew for a few months, (technically) and then Jesse and his family for a few months. Michelle did college while living with us and now that she’s graduated, we are apparently moving into a new season. 

I think I’m okay with it, but I do love my garden and the real fireplaces. As I sit on my backside wishing I could be more helpful with packing, I’m amazed at God’s faithfulness and my lack of faith. I should be better at this. It’s time to remind myself of God’s goodness to us through the years.

How? Facebook. Quite unexpectedly I’ve reconnected with many who lived through some of our most amazing adventures with God. The King’s Mansion DTS from summer 1983. Steve did the DTS while I took care of the kids, and then I got the joy of being part of the outreach. As I look back at the wonder of my life with my Father I’m encouraged to know that my future is secure. Looking back gives me faith to do the 180 required to move ahead.

Like I said a few months back, when we were still employed, “Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed …” Romans 4:18. 

“Immediately the boy’s father cried out and said, ‘I do believe; help my unbelief.'” Mark 9:24.

Here are some of the incredible places in which God has let me live;

ImageScholss Hurlach, summer 1974

ImageMy DTS, Crawley, England fall 1974

ImageIfield Hall, England Mobile Team 1976

 

ImageKing’s Mansion, Kealakekua, Hawaii 1983

ImageA quonset hut in Honolulu, Hawaii, 1984

ImageTaipei, Taiwan, 1985

Leave a Reply

