The Every Day of Life

I’m doing a Bible study with my sister-in-law. That’s wonderful all by itself, but the amazing thing is, (because I’m old and remember when this was just a Jetson’s thing,) she lives in California and I live in Texas, but we see each other every week via Skpe. Incredible.

This week the thing that I want to talk about with her is walking with God. While studying about who walked with God, it hit me; one of those, “I’ve always known this, but today it’s real,” kind of moments. It’s about doing the every day with God.

Talking with Him while sorting the clothes and putting them in the washer. Weeping with Him over the text from a daughter or friend miles away. Laughing with Him when reading a status on Facebook. Using colorful language, (I know some of you do), when cooking dinner at the end of a long tiring day. Pleading with Him when you see the bills to be paid. Dancing for joy with Him when the bills are paid and your check book balance isn’t $0.00 – or less. Singing with Him in the car while you pound out the beat on the steering wheel. (I love me some Joe Bonamassa in the car.)

It’s all about the normal stuff of life, the every day. I’ve had a lifelong dialogue with God. I don’t know when it started, but I can’t remember a time before our conversations. No one taught me, and I suppose at one time I would’ve been medicated for talking to my invisible friend – my Heavenly Father.

I’m forgiven. I’m loved. I’m accepted. I’m even celebrated, and I don’t have to do anything fancy to receive such precious gifts. The most amazing thing is that He wants to be with me, part of my every day. It’s His choice. It’s the whole reason He came to earth.

“Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.” Revelation 3:20.

He’s inviting Himself over for a meal, into your every day, so grab a cuppa, pull up a chair, and have a heart to heart.

 

Leave a Reply

