Faith or Obedience

Pastor Brian spoke a bit ago about obedience and faith. I’d always thought that obedience was primary, but he challenged me, (not to my face, but during the sermon). Obedience without faith is legalism, but obedience combined with faith … well … that’s when it really gets good.

I was watching Lord Of The Rings recently, and once again I gleaned profound truth.

In one of the last scenes, (if you haven’t seen it yet … well you should have), Sam is walking into the river to catch up with Frodo, who’s paddling to the other side. Frodo yells back to him, “Go back Sam. I’m going to Mordor alone.” Sam, the river nearly waist high, says, “Of course you are; and I’m going with you.” The problem is, Sam can’t swim. As the scene’s intensity builds and I’m watching Sam sink, looking up through the water to Frodo, my thoughts became crystal clear. “That’s it. That’s walking in obedience with faith out in front. That’s when the adventure really begins.”

I know he’s fictional, but when I grow up, I wanna be like Samwise Gamgee, heading boldly into the river with faith out in front.

If you know me well, you know I’m a bit slow spiritually speaking. I’ve got a ways to go.

This week I’m thankful for God’s provision of a pastor who speaks truth with power and grace.

One thought on “Faith or Obedience

Leave a Reply

