Farewell to the Year of The Foot – Hello to the New Song

This year could be titled The Awful, Horrible, Terrible, Wonderful Year. It began with me on pain killers and Steve wondering how long he’d be employed. Before January 2014 was over, Steve was unemployed and preparing our home for the market. I was still on pain killers.

Throughout this year I’ve asked, “Where will we be for Christmas?” Tonight, sitting in front of a crackling fire, listening to my grandson Dashiell marvel at the flames, my grand-daughter Eyvind coo and babble, and my hubby and son Jesse discuss the treasures he IMG_0532found meandering through Gladewater’s amazingly wonderful used book store, the answer is clear. Home. I’m completely and utterly amazed that I can say with total contentment, “I’m home.”

If anyone had told me at the beginning of the year, that East Texas would be home, my reaction would’ve been less than edifying. Life in Colorado was great. I was deeply blessed with friends, loved ones, purpose, and a great home. I saw no reason for radical change.

Psalm 98:1 “O sing to the Lord a new song, For He has done wonderful things, His right hand and His holy arm have gained the victory for Him.” I have a new song in my heart. A song of gratitude, wonder, humility and anticipation.

IMG_0151

Our home is beyond what I ever thought possible. We are at home in our church, Lifepoint; the same heart and passion as Vanguard – AND they have Sunday School for grown-ups.IMG_0190

Steve’s job is another wonderful thing. He enjoys being in an academic setting doing what he does really well, and working in a team environment with people of professionalism, grace and integrity. We are home at LeTourneau.

We’ve survived a second foot surgery by a surgeon who’s not only skilled in feet fixing, he’s compassionate. Before surgery, seeing my fear and anxiety, he asked if he could pray with us, took my hand, bowed his head and covered us in prayer. I went from scared to grateful in that instant. IMG_0184

I’m sure if I’d been more obedient, and not helped with the recent move, I wouldn’t have broken my already horribly abused toe, (only a hairline fracture). As it stands, the healing process is moving along amazingly well. I’m nearly there.

The friends we’ve made are precious to me. I never expected to give myself so freely to others in true friendship so quickly. It’s a direct answer to the prayers of women back in Colorado. Women I miss desperately. I’m blessed that they were willing to pray for what I needed, not what I wanted.

I wanted life to remain as it was. I wanted to stay in my beautiful home; watch my garden bloom in the spring. I wanted to be close to the women I love. I wanted Sunday dinner with our Life Group whose loving care kept us going. I couldn’t imagine no more drop in visits or crowded, noisy meals with kids, grandkids and cousins.

Psalm 98:1 “O sing to the Lord a new song, For He has done wonderful things, His right hand and His holy arm have gained the victory for Him.” God moved us from Colorado to Texas. IMG_0036Our oldest son and his family live here. I think we’ve seen Jesse, Casey and the kids more in the past 6 months than in the previous 16 years. Wonderful.IMG_0173

IMG_0212

My verse for 2015 is Psalm 98:1 I will sing a new song. He has done marvelous things. He has gotten the victory, and so have I. We’re living in victory in East Texas. I’m excited to be part of God’s unfolding adventure right here at home, in Longview.IMG_0521

What verse are you praying in 2015?

Leave a Reply

