New – Forever

I’m easily distracted. With predictable regularity my mind goes off on a bunny trail of fascination triggered by a word, a phrase, the shoes the lady teacher’s wearing, big hair, or a bad comb over.

Sunday morning Pastor Brian talked a lot about new. When I heard him ask, “How long does it take for new to become old,” I was off down a bunny trail.

I love that question. This year I’ll be 59. It’s not scary, or sad, but it’s on my mind. In my head I’m still 30 something even though I enjoy aging. Each decade gets better. Like fine wine, I’m mellowing. Life is more and more interesting. People are increasingly precious. Life is amazing.

When viewed through normal eyes, for anything still around after 59 years, new is in the rear view mirror and antique is just down the road … unless it’s a woman (or man) who loves the Lord.

Pastor Brian got my full attention, momentarily, when I heard, “A new life begins and continues with prayer.” Say that out loud. Did you catch it? He didn’t say, “begins and ends”, but “begins and continues”.

Hmmm. More than a bunny trail now; fodder for long term meditation.

I know his mercies are new every morning. In fact, as I begin a study on new I’m newly aware of how much God is all about new.

Isaiah 40:31 is one of my favorite verses. “Yet those who wait for the Lord will gain new strength, they will mount up with wings as eagles, they will run and not become weary, they will walk and not faint.” I probably mixed my Bible versions, but it makes me think of what Pastor Brian said, “A new life begins and continues with prayer.”

Colossians 3:10 will keep me thinking for a while, “… and have put on the new self who is being renewed to a true knowledge according to the image of the One who created him ….” If you have time, look it up for context.

New is not temporary in God’s world, it’s a continuous thing. I can’t find a word to express this new. It’s more than a process, much more than a gift opened in the morning that grows old with the sunset. Like a perfectly facetted diamond it dazzles us, it’s a prism displaying a fresh rainbow with each flash of light, fascinating every time, it never grows old, the diamond ages yet it’s beauty remains new. Impossible reality. That’s me – That’s you – In prayer – In Christ – Aging – New.

Two things need to happen for me to be being renewed. First, I have to put off the old with determination. Second I must become a student of Jesus, pursuing the true knowledge. This is one pursuit when being obsessive is a virtue. The song, One Pure And Holy Passion is playing in the background as I finish. I hope like me, you’ll become obsessed with Him.

2 thoughts on “New – Forever

  1. Thank you, Suzanne:

    A new life. What a great phrase. I, too go “down bunny trails”. And at the end of the day try to analyze why the day went that way. I had all these plans, but when trying to actually DO the first one, see something more important, and on and on it goes. So some of those plans are postponed to the next. Great is the point, where I can realize that God led my task in a different direction. Every new day is exciting especially when I know Jesus, and can talk to Him about these things, so mundane to some, but important to one wanting to know what He has in store for me to learn. Learning never stops, even in this late eighties gal.

    I look forward to your next post. Love, Aunt Lois

Leave a Reply

