Texas Spring

Texas Spring

IMG_0388

Or should I say, East Texas spring. Local folks differentiate between Texas and East Texas. I haven’t seen much outside of East Texas, so I don’t really understand the different qualities, but what I see of East Texas is truly lovely. With one exception, okay … maybe two.

For the past 21 years, bugs haven’t been a problem; another blessing of living in Colorado Springs. The occasional fly might get in the house, or maybe I’d get a mosquito bite or two during the summer, and even the spiders in the basement were nothing compared to the ones that live here in East Texas. (Forgive me Tricia). Here, amidst the beauty of my garden, there are swarms of winged pests in greater variety than I’ve experienced since coming back to the States from Taiwan. These bugs are comparable in size to the Asian varieties. That translates to generally LARGE, IMPRESSIVE critters.

Then, there are the wiggling, wriggling, slithering creatures I manage to disturb every time I attempt to sooth my soul with an afternoon of gardening. I’ve seen more snakes in the past three months than in the past 21 years. I’m not a fan.

In years past, I’ve relished the feel of rich, dark soil in my hands, now I wear gloves, and use the spade rather than delightfully digging in, getting dirt under my nails. (One reason I rarely do my nails),

Bare feet are also now covered. My toes are the same level as the average snake’s head and I’d rather not traumatize the toes any more than needed. They’ve been through enough in the past two years.IMG_0381

That said, I do love gardening here. It’s not yet Mother’s Day, (the traditionally safe day for beginning a garden in Colorado), and my garden is looking beautiful. There are still tweaks to be made, but blue and purple blossoms are appearing already.

IMG_0387Being awakened by the myriad variety of birds calling to each other, strolling through the yard, watching the branches sway with the breeze, (and leaping squirrels), listening to the soothing sounds of the waterfalls all make for a grateful heart.

3 thoughts on “Texas Spring

    • The variety of flowers that grow year round totally outweigh the annoyance of the bugs … gardenia, jasmine, camellia, real oak trees, climbable oak trees, bougainvillea …

  1. Dear Suzanne:

    Thank you for including me in your post, today. I, too love the spring, except mine is spent in Redmond, WA. It is so very beautiful and esp. as spring is blossoming out all over.

    I am recovering from a total knee replacement. It is going very well, thankfully to God’s total intervention. Thank you for your sweet posts which I enjoy, from time, to time.

    May God bless you and Steve, as well. Lois

    From: sowhatsthepoint Sent: Wednesday, May 06, 2015 7:59 AM To: loisblanchard@comcast.net Subject: [New post] Texas Spring

    sowhatsthepoint posted: “Texas Spring Or should I say, East Texas spring. Local folks differentiate between Texas and East Texas. I haven’t seen much outside of East Texas, so I don’t really understand the different qualities, but what I see of East Texas is truly lovely. “

Leave a Reply

